The Brazilian Federation is the “indissoluble union” of three distinct political entities: the States, the Municipalities and the Federal District. This Union (the states, the Federal District, and the municipalities) consists of the three “spheres of government”. The Federation is set on five fundamental principles: sovereignty, citizenship, the dignity of human beings, the social values of labour and freedom of enterprise, and political pluralism. The classic tripartite branches of government (executive, legislative, and judicial under the checks and balances system) are formally established by the Constitution.

The executive and legislative branches are organised independently in all three spheres of government, while the judiciary is organised only at the federal and state/Federal District levels.

The form of government is that of a democratic republic, with a presidential system. The President is both head of state and head of government of the Union and is elected for a four-year term, with the possibility of re-election for a second successive term. The President appoints the Ministers of State, who assist in government. Legislative houses in each political entity are the main source of law in Brazil.

The National Congress, the Federation’s bicameral legislature, consisting of the Chamber of Deputies and the Federal Senate, plays a pivotal role in shaping the country’s laws and policies. Judiciary authorities exercise jurisdictional duties almost exclusively, ensuring the balance of power in the Federation.

Brazil, officially the Federative Republic of Brazil, is the largest country in South America and the only Portuguese-speaking country in the Americas. It is the world’s fifth-largest country by geographical area and population.

Bounded by the Atlantic Ocean on the east, Brazil has a coastline of over 7,491 kilometres (4,655 miles). It is bordered on the north by Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and the French overseas department of French Guiana; on the northwest by Colombia; on the west by Bolivia and Peru; on the southwest by Argentina and Paraguay; and the south by Uruguay. Numerous archipelagos form part of Brazilian territory, such as Fernando de Noronha, Rocas Atoll, Saint Peter and Paul Rocks, and Trindade and Martim Vaz.

Embarking on a remarkable historical journey, Brazil was a Portuguese colony, under the rule of Pedro Álvares Cabral, from 1500 until it declared its independence in 1822. Initially, it was known as the Brazilian Empire, but the nation transitioned into a republic in 1889. The roots of its bicameral legislature, now known as Congress, can be traced back to 1824, when the first constitution was ratified. Today, Brazil stands as a Federal Republic, a federation formed by the union of 26 States and the Federal District, which proudly holds the national capital, Brasília.


brazil, brazilian, history


This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.